• Home
  • Neighborhood History

Neighborhood History

At the onset of the 20th Century, Wash Collier owned the virgin forest that stretched from 14th Street to Buckhead. He died in 1903 and Eretus Rivers, owner of the Peachtree Heights Company, acquired 500 acres of undeveloped woodlands on the west side of Peachtree Road from the Collier estate.

This acreage began at Peachtree Creek and extended northward. Part of this parcel would become the Peachtree Heights West neighborhood and part would become the adjacent neighborhood of Haynes Manor. At the entrance to the development near the intersection of Peachtree Road and Peachtree Battle Avenue, Rivers built a small classic house to be used as a sales office. That structure is still actively used today by the Atlanta Public School System.

Rivers hired Carrère and Hastings from New York, one of the premiere American architectural firms to design the land plan. Their design reflects the influence of the Olmstead brothers (creators of New York’s Central Park, as well as Atlanta’s Druid Hills community, the Olmstead Linear Park system and Piedmont Park) in adhering to the curvilinear streets that follow the terrain, generous lots and beautiful gardens. Almost 100 years later the mature beauty of our neighborhood is a proud testament to the foresight of the architect and developer. Those of us who are fortunate to live here think this is Atlanta’s finest neighborhood.

Peachtree Heights West Civic Association    

Copyright © 2018 Peachtree Heights

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software